Michael Brajkovich MW takes over as Air New Zealand Wine Awards Chair of Judges

18 November 2011

2011 is a milestone year for the Air New Zealand Wine Awards. Not only does it mark a 25 year partnership between the competition and Air New Zealand, it also sees respected Chair of Judges Steve Smith MW step down after 5 years of service to the awards. Senior judge, Michael Brajkovich MW, will take the position of Chair of Judges in 2012.

Steve Smith MW comments:
"I have always regarded this appointment as an absolute privilege, and a highlight of my 25 years in New Zealand wine. To have Michael Brajkovich MW enthusiastically accept the position as my successor, is a strong endorsement of the professionalism and status of the Air New Zealand Wine Awards within the wine community. I have no doubt he will take this show to even higher levels."

Organised and owned by New Zealand Winegrowers, the Air New Zealand Wine Awards is regarded as the country’s most prestigious wine competition. This year 30 Elite Gold Medals were awarded and Villa Maria Single Vineyard Keltern Hawke's Bay Chardonnay 2010 won the Air New Zealand Champion Wine of the Show.