New Look Air New Zealand Wine Awards

19 September 2006

This year the Air New Zealand Wine Awards will showcase a freshly designed logo and a new trophy wine sticker. This make-over celebrates 20 years of Air New Zealand sponsorship and anchors the awards as the most prestigious in New Zealand.

Along with the new brand, developed jointly by New Zealand Winegrowers and Air New Zealand, a consumer website designed to drive interest and celebrate the winning wines, will also be launched.

New Zealand Winegrowers Global Marketing Director, Chris Yorke, says the new look will take the Air New Zealand Wine Awards to the next level and celebrates Air New Zealand’s sponsorship.

“We’re excited about the new, fresh look which reflects the premium quality of the wine and the development of the industry.

Along with the new consumer website, set to go live by mid-October, this is the first year that trophy wines will have their own sticker to go on wine bottles. The new trophy sticker will further champion the overall winning wine varietals. The new gold, sliver and bronze medal stickers have also been re-worked to be more eye-catching to the consumer.

“Many consumers eagerly await the results of the Air New Zealand Wine Awards to guide their selection of quality New Zealand wine, with the new look medal stickers and the interactive consumer website, finding out this information will be as easy as possible,” said Mr Yorke.

Entries for the 2006 Air New Zealand Wine Awards closed last Friday (15 September) and are currently being collated. Judging will take place at North Harbour Stadium, North Shore City over three days (30 October – 1 November) with local and international wine judges headed by Chairman of Judges Brent Marris.

Medal-winning wines will be announced to the public on Tuesday 7 November, 2006.

The awards dinner and trophy announcements will take place on Saturday 11 November in the Hawke’s Bay, one of New Zealand’s founding wine making regions.

The Air New Zealand Wine Awards are organised by New Zealand Winegrowers to celebrate excellence in wine making.